Red Wine Hot Chocolate- Winter Warmer!

So I had seen on Facebook recently a post about red wine hot chocolate.  This excited me and my housemate.

I am not a massive chocoholic, but I do like experimenting with foods and baking and stuff and as red wine is part of my staple diet I thought, I must try this! Especially as my guilty pleasure is dipping dark chocolate into my glass of red wine.

So Becki (housemate) and I decided to give it go as a little leaving treat for me before I move out and head London.

Becki came home from work with a few essentials for this recipe.

  • Dark Chocolate
  • Milk
  • Red Wine

ingredientsHowever, with the added bonus of Choc Shot, whipped cream and marshmallows.  Yummy! Or so we thought.

The original recipe came from Immaeatthat and I think like us discovered that this recipe is probably not best gulping from big mugs.  I would say it would be amazing served in small glasses after a dinner party as part of a ‘night cap’ type thing.  Its rich.  It probably didn’t help that we added whipped cream and a good handful of marshmallows!

To make this though is so easy.

How to make red wine hot chocolate:

  1. Add 2 cups of milk to a pan with 1/2 cup of dark chocolate
  2. (Optional) add a few dashes of choc shot to the mix
  3. Gentle melt together until the chocolate is fully melted and mixed with the milk
  4. In each mug add 1/3 of red wine and add the hot chocolate mix, stirring well
  5. Decorate as desired

So, my recommendation, if you like red wine and chocolate try it, but don’t serve it as an actual hot chocolate.  This should be served in smaller portions and probably doesn’t need all the trimmings.

However, even though we struggled to drink a full mug of this, we didn’t want to be beaten and decided to try something else.  So, we looked through the alcohol bottles and contemplated amaretto, cherry vodka and whisky as a substitute for the red wine, something that wouldn’t be so rich.  We landed on rum, Kraken rum.

krackenOnce the hot chocolate was ready we simply added a few dashes each to the mix and there we had it.  The perfect winter warmer drink.   This was easier to drink and had a lovely warmth that you could imagine would be brilliant drinking by the fire at Christmas time.   This one was #thevery.

Let me know if you give it go or if you play around with the recipe and how it turns out, id love to hear how it goes and what you come up with.

Today has been more cleaning and packing for me.  Only 2 more days before the move! xx

 

2 thoughts on “Red Wine Hot Chocolate- Winter Warmer!

  1. Pauline says:

    I love your dedication to the cause! Not sure about that….. pass me the rum!! I wanna be your house mate! I don’t like red wine (I know, the shame) or hot chocolate but I do like the sound of a after dinner party night cap. Pass me the red wine!

    Like

  2. Pauline says:

    I love your dedication to the cause! Not sure about that….. pass me the rum!! I wanna be your house mate! I don’t like red wine (I know, the shame) or hot chocolate but I do like the sound of an after dinner party night cap. Pass me the red wine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

